NEP 2010/11 Grant awards

Grantholder Institution Equipment Info
Prof K Abou-El-Hossein NMMU Ultra High Precision Machining Centre (Nanoform 250 ultragrind)
Dr C Baker UL Q150T Modular Coating System
Prof LJ Barbour SUN High Pressure Differential Scanning Calorimeter with Sorption Analysis Capability
Prof JT Burger SUN SOLiD4
Prof F Bux DUT ApoTome Imaging System
Prof ML Chitambo RU Risø TL/OSL-DA-20 Luminescence Reader
Prof DA Cowan UWC 1) Roche GS Junior System 2) Repair and Upgrade to the lllumina Gall System
Prof WMU Daniels UKZN BD FACSCanto ll
Prof RA Dorrington RU 454-GS Junior DNA Sequencing Platform
Prof TJ Egan UCT Isothermal Titration Calorimeter (ITC)
Dr E Elliot UKZN Upgrade: Motorized stage, camera and software upgrde for Zeiss 710 Confocal Microscope RP inverted microscope.
Dr T Franz UCT High Perfomance ultra-portable diagnostic ultrasound system
Dr AAS Gulbis SAAO SHOC:  Sutherland High-speed Optical Camera
Prof DG Hattingh NMMU iXRD - Portable Non-Destructive Residual Stress Measurement System
Prof EP Kearsley UP Geotechnical Centrifuge
Prof B Kramer Wits Confocal Microscope LSM 780
Prof L Korsten UP Matrix Assisted Laser Desorption lonization-Time of Flight
Prof JS Marsh RU Automated Electron Probe micro-analyser (EPMA)
Dr JT Nel NECSA Glow Discharge Optical Emission Spectrometer for Surface Analysis
Dr MA Papathanasopoulos Wits Surface Plasmon Resonance Analyser System
Prof F Petruccione UKZN Clavis2 id3110 Quantum Key Distribution System
Prof SL Pityana CSIR LENS 850-MR7
Prof M Rautenbach SUN Synapt G2 Quadrupole/Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometer
Prof M Rautenbach SUN Circular Dichroism/Florescence Spectropolarimeter
Prof BT Sewell UCT Vitrobot Mark IV
Prof BW Smith Wits M-Spec Imaging Toolset
Dr H Uys CSIR Ultra-cold ion trapping and cooling system
Prof AH Wilson Wits Axios Wavelenght Dispersive Sequential X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer (XRF)